waffle...



















dannii


august 21 - blood [2002-08-21 @ 10:48 p.m.]

after the most amazingly fantastic 4 days with the grrl, i'm back at mums..
*sigh*..
my sister had been staying here, but she had to go to melbourne and mum told me she was terrified to stay home alone, so i did the *good daughter* thing and came back..
but i gotta say - i didn't want to.
the last few days with sam have just been..well...beyond description, really...
i feel like i have fallen in love with her all over again..and it really feels amazing.
but that's enough sappy shit for one entry.

so today, while i was killing time waiting for my train, i thought that i would practice my venipuncture technique, and seeings as there was no one in the house to practice on, i decided i'd use myself.
that was my first mistake..
after applying the tourniquet to my right arm (out of habit, i guess) i realized that i wouldn't be able to jab myself using my left hand, so i swapped arms...then i realized that i wouldn't be able to jab myself in my left arm either (it just felt akward)...so i decided to take blood from one of the very juicy veins on the back of my left hand...all was well at first.
the tourniquet was on..
i found the vein i was going to jab...i got the needle in, and even managed to stabilise it while i put the vaccutainer on...but then i saw all the bright, thick, gooey red blood..and i got light headed (that's NEVER happened before!)..i couldn't think...so as a kind of reflex, i pulled the needle out with the ourniquet still on!
*ugh* it bled like a motherfucker!
..even though it only took me a second to undo the tourniquet, i managed to get blood all over my t-shirt, my jeans, and on the kitchen floor...and my hand....man, my poor little vein must have bled into the surrounding tissues - coz i now have a fucker of a hematoma ...and it hurts...
it didn't hurt when i jabbed myself...it didn't hurt at all...but now, now my hands all swollen and sore...
i guess that'll learn me for practicing on myself..but now, after reading this - i doubt anyone will ever let me practice on them..
oh well..i don't wanna be a blood nurse anyway..

next..


0 comment so far..

<< back >>- - - - - << next >>



last five

jul 2 - fuckers

jun 13 - bored

may 11 - GAMSAT

april 20 - adios

apr 13 - babble